"I've done this, I can do it, cant I?" Phil Mickelson said to Captain Jay Haas after he told him he had switched his Callaway ball to one with a higher compression that goes further off the tee. Mickelson wanted more distance, for just the tee shot at the seventh hole, and thought he could switch his ball to do so.

Haas told Phil to go ask the walking referee, who immediately informed him he was out of the hole.

What came next was one of the most bizarre penalties I've ever seen and came during the Friday fourballs where Mickelson and Zach Johnson took on Jason Day and Adam Scott. First here is the moment Phil got penalised.


And here the referee explains that he is also penalising Zach Johnson and effectively gifting the International Team two holes. From starting the seventh hole all square, they were teeing off the eighth tee box two down! Was the referee right?



Ref explains he is awarding The Internationals two holes for Phils mess up.
Posted by Donal Hughes on Thursday, October 8, 2015

Join the GolfCentralDaily community on Facebook Here and on Twitter Here.
Share To:

GolfCentralDaily

Uncensored, independent, inside the ropes Tour golf news and spoofs from the world's best golf blog!

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours