Jordan Spieth. That's not embedded boss.

As if things weren't bad enough for Jordan Spieth shooting a 79 in his first round at the Northern Trust Open he had a bit of a ruling shamozzle on the ninth hole too which only the referees could figure out.

Here's the explanation of what went on from PGA Tour ref Stephen Cox.

Two parts to the Spieth ruling. It was simple but more complicated as we went along!!
Firstly, he was denied relief for an embedded ball, as the ball was not below the level of the ground (Dec 25-2/0.5).
Secondly, as his left foot was touching a sprinkler head when he took his stance he was granted obstruction relief (Rule 24-2).
His first drop struck the course in a position where interference (area of intended swing) still existed from the condition he was taking relief from (in this case the sprinkler head). Despite the fact that the ball rolled to a position that no longer interfered with the sprinkler head, he was still required to re-drop. His next drop satisfied the requirements listed in 24-2b.

Nothing like a simple thing for a ref to complicate!

Join the GolfCentralDaily community on Facebook Here and on Twitter Here.
Share To:

GolfCentralDaily

Uncensored, independent, inside the ropes Tour golf news and spoofs from the world's best golf blog!

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours