The Ryder Cup matches at Le Golf National in Paris are one of the most eagerly anticipated events in the 2018 golfing calendar but the question everyone is asking after Brexit is will Team Europe still be a  competitive force without its stars from Britain and Northern Ireland?

Following the British public voting to leave the European Union and subsequent triggering of Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty by British PM Theresa May, no players from Britain or Northern Ireland can play for Europe in Ryder Cup matches.

So how does this affect the 2018 European Team.

Given that the 8 players with automatic qualification are made up of 4 players from the European Points list and 4 players from the World Points List the unlucky players who would be in the team as it stands but are now ineligible to play include Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton and Matt Fitzpatrick.  Of course Rory McIlroy is also no longer allowed to play for Europe as Northern Ireland is also part of the United Kingdom.

As it stands, qualifying automatically for the 2018 European Ryder Cup Team are Jon Rahm, Shane Lowry, Paul Dunne, Victor Dubuisson, Sergio Garcia, Rafa Cabrera Bella, Lucas Bjerregaard and Henrik Stenson.

As it stands. The Team Europe points table without UK players

European Captain Thomas Bjorn also has four picks, but again cannot pick any players from the UK.

More as it emerges.

Join the GolfCentralDaily community on Facebook Here and on Twitter Here.
Share To:


Uncensored, independent, inside the ropes Tour golf news and spoofs from the world's best golf blog!

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours