The Hero World Challenge at the weekend was overshadowed by a Patrick Reed "sand moving" incident.



He wasn't disqualified, just penalised two strokes for breaking Rule 8.1. Here's the video, you decide.  The general public consensus was damning; he clearly improved his lie by using the back of the club to brush sand away during two "practice" swings.



For his part Reed said it was unintentional, and that the camera angle made it look worse as it didn't improve his lie.

Then again today up pops the famous Gary Player incident at Royal Lytham in 1974.  Then, Player was stuck up against the side of the famous old clubhouse on the 18th and needed to putt left handed to escape.  The camera angle from above makes it look like Player improves his lie by clearing sand/soil from behind the ball.  Was it the same as Reed?


What do you think?

Some people have posted some good responses on twitter.



Including this incident from 2015 where Reed did the same thing!!!!



Join the GolfCentralDaily community on Facebook Here and on Twitter Here.
Share To:

GolfCentralDaily

Uncensored, independent, inside the ropes Tour golf news and spoofs from the world's best golf blog!

Post A Comment:

0 comments so far,add yours